Home » Gaming » Fortnite ranking system explained : All Fortnite ranks

Fortnite ranking system explained : All Fortnite ranks

Time to grind ranked in Fortnite - here's how it works

Updated: May 17, 2023 3:14 pm
Fortnite ranking system explained : All Fortnite ranks

Fortnite ranked is here! So with it, we better explain the Fortnite ranking system as cleanly and as simply as possible. We’ve put together everything you need to know if you want to learn about the ins and outs of the Fortnite ranks following the release of the mode on May 17th 2023.

Ranked play comes to Fortnite after many years of the game’s initial success, most of which it has held on to over the years. Just like any ranked system – whether it be Apex Legends, Warzone 2, or even Halo Infinite – there is progression to be made. If you’re a long time Fortnite player who can hold their own against some of the best, you’ll obviously be aiming for the higher ranks.

If starting out, the Fortnite ranking system may seem like a scary place to be. But rest assured, we can explain how it all works and how you gain access to it as a newbie.

All Fortnite ranks in order

The new Fortnite ranking system follows a similar pattern to other games out there, while having the unique twist of the Unreal rank sitting at the top of the pack. A nod to the game’s Unreal Engine of course. We’ve compiled a list of all the Fortnite ranks just below from best to worst – so go take a look.

  • Unreal
  • Champion
  • Elite
  • Diamond III
  • Diamond II
  • Diamond I
  • Platinum III
  • Platinum II
  • Platinum I
  • Gold III
  • Gold II
  • Gold I
  • Silver III
  • Silver II
  • Silver I
  • Bronze III
  • Bronze II
  • Bronze I

Each rank of course has it’s individual ranking badge or medal to signify where you’re currently placed just below. Do note that the Battle Royale and Zero Build game modes have separate ranks, meaning that you’ll have to rank them up (or down on a bad day) separately.

fortnite all ranks in order
Every Fortnite rank in Battle Royale and Zero Build (source: Fortnite)

What is the highest Fortnite rank?

The highest rank in Fortnite on the ranked mode release is called Unreal. Unreal rank comes after the Champion and Elite ranks respectively, none of which are ordered in I, II, or III (1, 2, or 3) subdivisions. For example, Diamond III is one step below Elite.

You may be wondering what happens once you reach the Unreal rank. Well, as reported on the official Fortnite blog, reaching the coveted Unreal rank means you can no longer rank back down for the rest of the season. In addition to that, you’ll have a number next to your rank to signify your current global ranking. So if you’re Unreal (1), then you’re the highest ranked player in the world.

Fortnite ranked vs unranked

Ranked is of course all about climbing the ranks and proving your worth. Playing ranked offers progression, and you’ll find yourself on the Fortnite ranked leaderboard to see how you place among other players. Within ranked, you’ll be pitted against other players in the same ranked game mode, at a similar skill level to yours based on the rank.

In ranked, the looting system and gameplay remains unchanged from the Battle Royale and Zero Build game modes we know and love. However, there have been balance changes in patch v24.40 to make the ranked experience more interesting. See below.

  • Material caps decreased to 500 (previously 999).
  • Harvesting rates increased slightly.
  • Once a player is eliminated, they will drop 50 of each material.

Ranked gameplay also has additional rewards – known as the ‘Ranked Urgent Quest’ – you receive one of these each match, and they don’t roll over into the next game. Completing one of these quests within ranked gameplay will unlock Seasonal Rewards such as cosmetics.

In unranked gameplay, there is less balance in the overall skill of players, as there is no rank to provide a guideline. There may be other stats such as account level and playtime that are considered, but in general the matchmaking process is much less restrictive in order to find games quickly.

Unranked also serves as the battleground for unlocking ranked play in the first place. If you’re on a fresh account that hasn’t logged into Fortnite before, then you’re need to ‘Outlast 500 opponents’ before ranked is unlocked for you. This means playing plenty of unranked games for the time being.

Fortnite ranking system FAQs

Are there ranked seasons in Fortnite?

Yes, there are going to be ranked seasons for Fortnite Ranked. Starting off with Season Zero.

You’ll be ranked based on your past performance and your first ranked game to set your initial rank.

Season Zero lasts until Battle Royale Chapter 4 Season 3.

How do I rank up in Fortnite?

Ranking up in Fortnite is based on your match placement and how many eliminations either you or your team scored.

Eliminations later on in a match have more bearing on the skill rating.

Your team is basically treated as a single unit, which is based on the highest rank in the squad. All members gain or lose the same amount of progress at the end of the game.

Fortnite ranking system explained : Final word

That just about covers everything there is to know about the Fortnite ranking system right now. Since the ranking system is officially out, you can go ahead and jump into the action and begin climbing the ranks, as long as you’re not playing on a completely fresh account that is.

We have plenty of other Fortnite and gaming articles to read through if you’re interested in the game, or just need to learn all about the best weapons or even graphics settings.

Leave a Comment

WePC is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Trusted Source

WePC’s mission is to be the most trusted site in tech. Our editorial content is 100% independent and we put every product we review through a rigorous testing process before telling you exactly what we think. We won’t recommend anything we wouldn’t use ourselves. Read more