Home » Gaming » Fortnite » How to witness Fortnite’s New Year’s Eve event

How to witness Fortnite’s New Year’s Eve event

It’s time to ring in the new year once again, and Fortnite’s annual celebrations are back in game

Updated: Dec 31, 2021 12:21 pm
Fortnite New Year's eve fireworks display

Check out Fortnite’s explosive in-game New Year’s Eve fireworks show every hour as Epic Games celebrates 2022 around the globe.

Fortnite has gained a reputation for holding events, celebrating occasions and showcasing great interactivity in-game. New Year’s Eve is no different, with Epic Games ringing in the new year with an hourly fireworks display above your head.

FH72EguVUAE lon

When do Fortnite’s New Year’s Eve celebrations begin?

With the Line Islands in the Pacific being the first to ring in the New Year at the equivalent of 2am PST/5am EST/10am GMT on December 31st, Fortnite’s celebrations begin, so you can witness it in-game right now. It will last until the last countries hit midnight at around 3am PST/6am EST/11am GMT on January 1st.

How to see Fortnite’s New Year’s Eve event in-game

There is a catch, in that the display actually only happens on the hour, every hour, so you might not see it in every Fortnite match. If you want to catch the show, make sure to drop into a match just before the clock ticks over into a new hour. Of course, you might get taken out by some spoilsport wanting to take advantage of people looking at the sky, but if you’re lucky like me, you might just find a new friend to celebrate with!

FH72Eg7UUAgXgfJ

While you’re in game, it might be worth trying to complete a couple of those Winterfest and seasonal challenges while you still can. Check out our guides on how to find tall grass, where to locate Holiday Presents! and how to get icy feet.

WePC is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more