FF14 Maintenance – How Long Will FF14 Servers Be Down?

FFXIV Maintenance - Popularity Of MMO Leads To FF14 Downtime

FF14 maintenance how long will FF14 servers be down
Last Updated:

FF14 maintenance is currently taking place. Final Fantasy 14 Online servers will be down for a short period whilst this is occurring. Read below to find out how long FF14 maintenance will take place and when FFXIV servers will be back up and running again, and also the reason FF14 servers are down.

FF14 Maintenance - How Long Will FFXIV Servers Be Down?

  • FF14 maintenance will commence on August 23, 2021 at 6PM PDT / 9PM EDT / August 24, 2021 2AM BST.
  • The Final Fantasy 14 Online maintenance will last for nine hours.
  • FF14 maintenance will end on August 24, 2021 at 3AM PDT / 6AM EDT / 11AM BST. 

 

FFXIV Maintenance - Reasons For The FF14 Downtime

FF14 maintenance is taking place for a couple of reasons:

  • Firstly, Final Fantasy 14 Online has enjoyed a massive surge in popularity over the last few months, to the point where servers of the game have struggled to cope. The game’s digital version actually sold out in the US for a period, and players in North America and Europe have found themselves unable to join servers. Square Enix is trying to optimize and upgrade their server capacity to counter this, which has meant maintenance and some server downtime has needed to take place.
  • Secondly, the developers are introducing a new hotfix for patch 5.58, and have had to bring the FF14 servers down to implement it.

Final Fantasy 14 Endwalker

The latest expansion for FFXIV Online is Final Fantasy Endwalker, the fourth expansion for the online MMO, which is scheduled for release later this year.

The Final Fantasy XIV Endwalker beta proved wildly popular, and has been one of several reasons (including the migration of players from World Of Warcraft) that has led to the recent explosion in popularity of the game that has caused servers to be full, despite it being originally released back in 2010.

You can read more about this on our Final Fantasy 14 Endwalker release date page.

To make sure you’ll be able to run the new expansion when it does release, check out our Final Fantasy 14 Endwalker System Requirements page, which also includes suggestions for PC builds that will run the game.