Age of Empires 4 Open Beta set for this weekend

Here is what we know on the Age of Empires 4 Open Beta.

Age of Empires 4 Open Beta Stress Test

Microsoft has announced it is hosting an Age of Empires 4 stress test, allowing players a chance to test multiplayer, the AI and the game’s tutorial mission.

Some may consider this the Age of Empires 4 open beta, which is the only known open testing period. The game is just shy of a month away from launch, so this is your opportunity to test the multiplayer servers and catch any bugs and balancing issues before the Age of Empire 4 release date on October 28.

Age of Empires 4 Stress Test Date and Times

The Age of Empires 4 Stress test, or Age of Empires 4 open beta (if you will) released dates and times are as follows.

  • Age of Empires 4 Stress test begins Friday, September 17 at 10:00 PT.
  • The Age of Empire 4 open beta ends on September 20 at 10:00 PT.

 

10:00 PT translates to 13:00 ET, 18:00 BST, 19:00 CEST in case you’re wondering about the Age of Empires 4 open beta in other major local times.

Age of Empire 4 Open Beta Content

The Age of Empires 4 Stress Test features primarily multiplayer content. The stress test is designed to stress the multiplayer servers to see any lag or anything else going on. After all, the game is a competitive RTS, and beating other players is a big part of the experience.

However, if you would rather play against the Age of Empire 4 AI, you can add bots to your multiplayer sessions. You will also get the opportunity to play the tutorial missions, allowing you to get to grips with Age of Empires 4 before jumping headfirst into a multiplayer session.

Lastly, there is no NDA on the Age of Empires 4 Stress Test, meaning you can create content on the weekend if you so wish to. This is a big step up, as the previous closed beta had an NDA attached to it.

How to get the Age of Empire 4 Stress Test?

If you’re wondering how to get into the Age of Empires 4 stress test, then you will need to do the following:

  1. Visit the Xbox Insider Hub App on PC. Find Age of Empires IV and download the technical test. You can find the Xbox Insider Hub app on the Windows Store.
  2. Visit the Steam Age of Empires 4 page and request access via the Steam Playtest feature. Once you’re on the Steam page click the ‘Request Access’ and await your acceptance via an email connected to your Steam Account.

Will you be playing the Age of Empires 4 open beta/stress test? Let us know in the comments below!