Home » PC Tech & Gaming News » Fortnite maintenance downtime today — v18.40

Fortnite maintenance downtime today — v18.40

How long are Fortnite servers down today for the latest update

Updated: Nov 16, 2021 12:17 pm
how long is fortnite downtime today

UUPDATE: November 16th, 2021 — Fortnite is now back up following the 18.40 update, and all new features are available! Check out our guide to the patch notes for more information on what to expect from this Fortnite update. You can also see al known issues with 18.40 on Epic Games’ Trello Board.

With Fortnite’s detailed lore being updated all the time, new mechanics, map changes and additional NCPs are constantly being added to the game. This means that there is often downtime on Fortnite servers in order to implement the changes. On this page, we’ll take a look at whether Fortnite is going to be down today, how long for, and for what…

Is Fortnite down today?

fortnite downtime cube queen 18.30

As of approximately 00:30am PST/3:30am EST/8:30am BST, November 16th, 2021, Epic Games have begun disabling matchmaking ahead of today’s update, v18.40. As we edge ever closer to the end of Season 8: Cubed, we are expecting to see even more changes to the map, an update to the Cube Queen’s whereabouts herself, and even more as part of the Wrath of the Cube Queen story arc. However, the most exciting part of today’s update will undoubtedly be the long-awaiting launch of Naruto in Fortnite. We’ll update you on the full update once the full patch notes are available.

How long will Fortnite downtime last?

The length of the downtime will depend on the size of the patch, meaning it’s never 100% clear just how long it will take for servers to go back online. V18.40 is set to be a considerably large update, and so is expected to last until around 5am PST/8am EST/1pm GMT. The official Fortnite Status twitter page is updated frequently with downtime information and will be updated when the patch is finished.

What might we see in Fortnite v18.40?

Naruto Fortnite Header

On top of another update to the Cube Queen storyline, which may well include yet another change to The Convergence, we are expecting to see the start of the Naruto content. New skins will be added to the shop today, and there will likely be a new Naruto -themed Creative Hub.

According to renowned Fortnite leaker Shiina, there will also be another Fortnite War Effort vote, rumored to be between the Proximity Launcher and the Flint-Knock Pistol, and new creative features.

WePC is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more